Become an INSIDER to gain access to this article

Join now

Application Overview: Utah's 2021 antlerless draw

Utah's 2021 antlerless draw

The 2021 application period for Utah antlerless hunts is quickly approaching. The application period is from May 27 at 8 a.m. to June 17, 2021 at 11 p.m. MST. Applications can be completed online here. Results are expected to be available by July 8, 2021.


State information

View important information and an overview of the Utah rules/regulations, the draw system, tag and license fees on our State Profile.

Important dates and information

  • The deadline to apply is June 17, 2021 at 11 p.m. MST. Apply online here.
  • Results will be emailed or available online by July 8, 2021.
  • Hunters must have a valid hunting or combination hunting/fishing license to apply.
  • Hunting licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase. If you time it correctly you can apply for two consecutive years on one license. You do not need an active hunting license to hunt, just to apply.
  • Applicants must be 12 years old by Dec. 31, 2021 to apply.
  • Hunters must be 12 years old to hunt.
  • Hunters born after Dec. 31, 1965 must have taken an approved hunter’s education course

Utah antlerless/female permit cost breakdown

License/permit

Resident

Nonresident

Antlerless deer $30 $107
Antlerless elk $50 $251
Doe antelope $30 $107
Bighorn sheep ewe $100 $1,000
Antlerless moose $213 $1,000

THE INS AND THE OUTS

Hunting license required

Before you can apply for a 2021 antlerless permit, bonus point or preference point, you must have a valid Utah hunting or combination license. You can purchase a license today or when you apply for an antlerless permit.

Obtain up to three elk permits

You may obtain up to three elk permits per year — as long as at least two of the permits are for antlerless elk — but you can only apply for or obtain one antlerless elk permit in the drawing.

Forfeit preference points for purchase of remaining antlerless permits

If you obtain a general season antlerless permit over the counter (OTC) (after the antlerless drawing) or a private lands only permit, you will lose any preference points you've previously accrued for that specific antlerless hunt. If you purchase an antlerless elk control permit, you will not lose your preference points.

Private lands only antlerless elk permits

This year, the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources (UDWR) will again offer private lands only antlerless elk permits. These permits are only valid on private lands on select hunting units. Do not purchase one of these permits without knowing the laws that regulate hunting on private lands.

Flexibility in using antlerless elk permits

If you obtain two antlerless elk permits for the same area — but the permits are for different seasons — you may harvest both elk during the same season. And don't forget that you can use your antlerless permit during your buck or bull season, as long as it's for the same area.

Check your DRAW ODDS here

goHUNT Gear Shop

Comments

50 States for 50 Bucks
Save 25% During Our Flash Sale!
Get Hunting Gear for Less